Toggle menu

Levels of Local Government

There are three levels of local government in the Chichester District.

We are Chichester District Council. We cover 303 square miles, including Chichester, Selsey, Midhurst and Petworth, with a population of 112,600.

We deal with around 100 services including:

  • Waste and recycling collection
  • Planning and building control
  • Housing
  • Housing and council tax benefits
  • Sport and leisure
  • Community safety
  • Environmental health
  • Public conveniences
  • Street cleaning
  • Car parks and CCTV
  • Business support and development
  • Coastal protection
  • Abandoned vehicles
  • Cemeteries

We work closely with a number of partner, community and voluntary organisations from West Sussex County Council and parish councils to the South Downs National Park Authority and the Police.

West Sussex County Council (WSCC)

WSCC cover the entire county of West Sussex and mainly deals with:

  • Education
  • Social services
  • Roads and transport
  • Births, deaths and marriages
  • Fire and rescue
  • Libraries and archives
  • Trading standards

The third type of council is parish or town councils.

There are 58 located across our district and they look after facilities such as:

  • Allotments
  • Park benches
  • Some playgrounds

They play an important role highlighting local issues that matter most to you and put forward views on planning applications and changes to local services.